Students

Students working under Professor Badrul Chowdhury:

Iman2

Naziri Moghaddam, Iman

PhD student 
inazirim@uncc.edu

Research Focus
Smart grid with high penetration of renewable energy resources (energy storage sizing and control) 

Chamana, Manohar

PhD student
mchamana@uncc.edu

Research Focus
Solving Distributed Generation (DG) integration issues in smart grid utilizing smart inverter capabilities

Abuella, Mohamed

PhD student
mabuella@uncc.edu

Research Focus
Solar and Wind Energy Forecasting, and ​Energy Analytics

Vatani, Behdad 
PhD student 
bvatani@uncc.edu

Research Focus
Electricity Markets, Energy Management, Renewable Energy, Smart Grids, Distribution Systems, Stochastic Optimization, Operation Research

Shuvra, Mahfuz Ali
PhD student
mshuvra@uncc.edu

Research Focus
Renewable energy grid integration, Microgrid

Hossan, Md Shakawat 
PhD student
mhossan@uncc.edu

Research Focus
Distributed Energy(DER) Resources integration and impacts of conservation voltage reduction(CVR)

Kamal, Faria
M.S. Student
fkamal@uncc.edu

Research Focus
Wind power, stability analysis, renewable energy integration in microgrid

Students working under Professor Madhav Manjrekar:

Sahu, Prasanth Kumar
PhD Student
psahu@uncc.edu

Research Focus
Control Strategies for Solar Panel Companion Inverters

Roy Chowdhury, Vikram
PhD Student
vroychow@uncc.edu

Research Focus
Renewable Energy Conservasion Applied to Solar PV, Wind, Microinverter Related Topics

Bhowmik, Pankaj
M.S. Student
pbhowmik@uncc.edu

Research Focus
Power Electronic Converter Design, Reactive Power Compensation​ and Smart Devices.

Seshadri, Rohit
M.S. student
rseshadr@uncc.edu

Research Focus
Research on Grid Resilience to Cyber Threats

 

Students working under Professor Maciej Noras:

 

Akumawah Nche, Ansovinus
M.S. student 
aakumawa@uncc.edu

Research Focus
Energy Harvesting under sea using piezoelectric cable

 Cockerham, Brett
M.S. student
bcocker2@uncc.edu

Research Focus
Power system frequency analysis 

 

 Vo, Misa 
M.S. student
mvo2@uncc.edu

Research Focus
Energy Harvesting for Power Line Environment

 

Students working under Professor Valentina Cecchi:

 

Ghiafeh Davoudi, Masoud
PhD student 
mghiafeh@uncc.edu

Research Focus
Electrical Distribution Systems, Power System Protection

Jagarlapudi, Surya Naga Krishna Moh
M.S. student
sjagarl1@uncc.edu

Research Focus
Wind  speed  impacts  ​ on  Non-uniform Transmission and Distribution Line models

Hullekerepalya Siddagangaiah,
Sandeep

M.S. student
shulleke@uncc.edu

Research Focus
Evaluation of the applications of Grid Impedance in Electrical distribution systems

Students working under Professor Babak Parkhideh:

Biglarbegian, Mehrdad
PhD student 
mbiglarb@uncc.edu

Research Focus
Grid Integration of Renewable Energy, High Frequency Converters Design, Power Electronic in Utility Applications

Jafarian, Hamidreza
PhD student
hjafaria@uncc.edu

Research Focus
Grid Integration of Renewable Energy, Control of Power Electronic, PV Inverter Design and Control

 

Mazhari, Iman
PhD student 
imazhari@uncc.edu

Research Focus
Power electronics, grid integration of renewable systems, and converter design